Chasing Waterfalls in New Hampshire

Franconia Notch State Park Waterfalls

Wondering around The Basin in Franconia Notch State Park in Lincoln, New Hampshire,

DSC_8434 2

 we found a well-paved path directing our way. As my friend Jeff and I embraced the beauty of the freshly fallen snow, we stumbled upon the many waterfalls that line The Basin’s path.

As we approached the first waterfall, I noticed a man making two snowmen. While the man made the snowmen, I surveyed The Basin’s wooded landscape for the first photograph I would take with my camera. While waiting quietly for the man to finish, I photographed the forests snowy scenery around us. In my first photograph, I photographed a waterfall in the backdrop of the shot. I didn’t realize the waterfall was in my photograph until I uploaded them to my laptop.

Once the man finished building the two snowmen, he then set them effortlessly on the wooden fence in front of The Basin’s waterfall. Without the man realizing it, he set the scene for the second photograph I’d capture for the day while hiking in Franconia’s state park.

dsc_8442-2.jpg

Jeff and I moved onward along the cascade trail in Franconia Notch to a scene I very much appreciate while hiking in New Hampshire’s state parks. The scene is of a transparent body of water, and in the distance is a simple but fierce waterfall filling the pond forming its shallow shoreline. The shallow shoreline sets a perfect edge along the water to capture images with either a DSLR camera or cell phone camera of both the pond and how fierce the pond’s waterfall is.

The next waterfall you’ll find lining The Basin’s trail offers a ledge with a view from above and a bridge to cross with a view of the waterfall from below. The picturesque landscape with the added sound of a torrent cascade of an endless waters movement will captivate you. It was difficult for me to choose which photographs to include in this blog post to help express this moment in time and capture the scenery Jeff and I were lucky enough to encounter and capture using our cameras.

 

Purgatory Waterfalls

DSC_4852 2.jpgWalking in New Hampshire’s Mont Vernon forest to find the Purgatory waterfalls is an alluring experience, an experience to test a hiker’s ability to navigate through a thickly wooded forest and scarcely marked route navigating to the hidden waterfalls. Accompanied by my friend Patrick on this adventure, he let me lead the way. I’d never hiked in these woods before so I kept making sure to keep looking ahead for the direction to go in from the trees marked with a white triangle. As a hiker, it is always your responsibility to pay attention and follow the trees marked leading the way. Unfortunately, no clear or obvious path is laid out in these woods. 

The first challenge on this hike is mentally learning how to cope with the massive amount of mosquitoes. When you are standing in any of the Mont Vernon woods for too long, the mosquitoes begin their feast.

After a fifteen minute hike into the woods, to our discovery a narrow footbridge built with a few 2×4’s. The bridge is also held together by two long wooden boards and a retaining tree serving as the bottom. Another important factor about the bridge is the one railing on its right side, but luckily the creek is shallow and a slow stream during the spring season.

Currently, Patrick is working on a photography project containing a series of photographs of people taking photographs. I encouraged Pat to take this opportunity to use the narrow footbridge an advantage point to include a photo in his photography project. So, I photographed Patrick standing on the footbridge, taking a picture of me standing on a rock in the middle of the creek. Luckily, the creek during the spring season is shallow and full of rocks to step on as another way to cross over.

About a mile and a half hike into the woods, we found the ledge leading the way to the upper falls. The view of the waterfall from above is just as picturesque as the view from below.

Patrick feeling daring leaped over the creek where it is now a fierce current flowing in between two deep crevices to see if he could get a better view of below. I, on the other hand, didn’t feel as daring and photographed the moment instead. Ansty and impatient to see the height of the waterfall from below, I hurried Patrick along to find a safe path for us to climb to the bottom.

Once we made it to the bottom, the mosquitoes were worse than before. Determined, Patrick and I managed through the mosquitoes constant biting and discussed our plan of action on how to take the photographs while standing in front of the towering waterfall. During the discussion with Pat, I thought to myself how serene it’d be if a tree were perfectly placed in front of the waterfall. The next thought that came to my fruition was an asana yoga pose Vrksasana, also known as the tree pose.

As I began to cross the rocks marginally immersed in the water in front of the waterfall, my foot slipped on a rock. I almost fell into the water, but luckily regained my balance and continued toward the spot I set my eye upon for my asana pose. While standing with the waterfall only a few inches from my face was a feeling of liberation. The constant cool breeze from the moving water felt refreshing like swimming in the northern Atlantic ocean. The close visual of the moving water falling from the upper waterfall, at Purgatory falls, is a moment in my life history I won’t regret.

Although Patrick and I only found the way to the upper falls, we are determined to find the path leading to the lower falls hidden in the Mont Vernon forest.

The photographs in this blog post I captured with Nikon’s D3200 and edited with Photoshop.

Enjoy & Hike New Hampshire’s Trails!

Candice.

Published by

CS Graphic Design

Candice's passion for graphic design and photography began in 2008. Her passion evolves from an enthusiasm she has for writing and reading. Candice's graphic design and photography experiences allow her to create with an innovative flow and thought process as a freelance artist.

2 thoughts on “Chasing Waterfalls in New Hampshire”

Leave a Reply

